Celebrating 50 Years of Local Government Excellence!

See All the 2018 Award Recipients in the October 2018 Issue of Public Management (PM) Magazine Dedicated to the 50th Anniversary of the ICMA Local Government Excellence Awards.

Sponsored by




Highlighted Recipients

Peter Marshall

Distinguished Service

Joel Valdez

Distinguished Service

Darin Atteberry

Career Excellence in Memory of Mark E. Keane

Henry Hill III

Assistant Excellence in Leadership Award in Memory of Buford M. Watson, Jr.

Brant Hanson

Early Career Leadership Award in Memory of William H. Hansell, Jr.

Gloria Hurtado

Award for Career Development in Memory of L.P. Cookingham

Orville Powell

Academic Award in Memory of Stephen B. Sweeney

Alan Bojorquez

Honorary Membership Award

2018 Award Recipients

ICMA recognizes the many achievements of its members through award programs that highlight extraordinary accomplishments as well as dedicated service to the profession.

Program Excellence Awards

Recognizes individual achievement as well as outstanding local government programs.

See Full List

Local Government Service Awards

Recognizes and celebrates ICMA members' dedication to public service and professional management at the local level.

See Full List

Performance Management Certificate Program

The ICMA Center for Performance Analytics recognizes local government performance management programs, encourages comparative analysis, and rewards transparency.

See Full List

Harvard Kennedy School Scholarship

See Full List